51 yr old Manager looking at Career change into Insurance

Your response to industry hot topics.

Moderators: Josh, independent guy

Howard
Insurance Journal Fan

51 yr old Manager looking at Career change into Insurance

Post by Howard »

I have 25 years experience owning and then managing a business- to -business distribution company in the Philadelphia area. Major burnout is settling in so I just obtained my Life license and thought I would take advantage of the seemingly good opportunitiues selling Final Expense and Morgtgage protection, starting out pt.time and then transistion into full time.
Companies I spoke to provide leads and support. While investigating I came across the State Farm opportunity and based on my resume and experience, they seem to like what I can bring to the table.
Is the Final Expense and Mtg. protection opportunities legit? and can a State Farm Agent make $150k a year which is what I make now and need to continue with. Any other suggestions?....my Sales, Marketing and Mgmt skills are at a high level with a solid track record.
Thank you very much!
kevinraz
Insurance Journal Addict

Career Change

Post by kevinraz »

Howard, I'm impressed if you are making much of anything with final expense & mortgage protection sales. That's a hard to sell market that takes hundreds of leads to make a few sales.

If you want to go to a captive agent company SF is as good as the rest and they all have their quirks. For a somewhat negatively biased opinion go to SF's agency assocation, http://www.nasfa.com.

Life only sales is tough and is usually most lucrative if you have an "in" to high worth clients who need big policies. FYI State Farm would probably require you to use their life products which might not be very competitive.

Good luck and go for it,

Kevin R
christymarie67
Insurance Journal Fan

Post by christymarie67 »

Howard,